Council of nine members, four of whom are elected in the Mackenzie District and five of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner in Council has legislative powers respecting such matters as direct taxation, establishment and tenure of Territorial offices, municipal institutions, controverted elections, licences, incorporation of companies, property and civil rights, administration of justice, game, education, hospitals and generally all matters of a local or private nature. The Council meets once each year in the Territories and at least once each year in Ottawa, which is the seat of government. The resources, except game, remain under the control of the Federal Government. The administration of legislation passed by the Commissioner in Council and the management of resources under federal legislation are conducted by the Northern Administration Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources. Administrative offices are located at a number of centres in the Territories including Fort Smith, Yellowknife. Hay River, Inuvik and Frobisher Bay.

COUNCIL OF THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES (as at May 22, 1964)

(
Commissioner	B. G. SIVERTZ
Deputy Commissioner	W. G. BROWN
Members of the Council— Appointed	W. G. Brown, Frank Vallée, Hugh Campbell, Robert N. Harvey and Stuart M. Hodgson
Elected	LYLE R. TRIMBLE, JOHN W. Goodall, Peter Baker and Robert Porritt
Officers of the Council— Secretary Legal Adviser	

Section 3.—Municipal Government*

The British North America Act of 1867 placed municipal government in Canada under the control of the provincial legislatures. The powers and responsibilities of municipalities are those delegated to them by statutes passed by their respective provincial legislatures. Some of these statutes apply to all municipalities within a province, some to a certain type or group and many to one municipality only. The types of municipal organization in existence and the nature of the municipal services provided vary greatly from region to region and are adjusted from time to time to meet changing needs and conditions.

In addition to the well-known types of organized municipalities—cities, towns, villages, counties, etc.—there are various other forms of local government organization. Certain municipal government bodies encompass a number of municipalities or parts of municipalities. For example, special district authorities (greater water and sewerage districts, drainage and irrigation districts and health units) may provide services to a number of municipalities. Similarly, metropolitan government authorities provide certain services to a number of area municipalities. In some provinces, the more sparsely settled areas do not have organized municipalities. Instead, they are divided into local improvement districts, local government districts or special areas in which the local government services are administered by officials appointed by the provincial Departments of Municipal Affairs.

^{*} Prepared in the Public Finance and Transportation Division, Dominion Bureau of Statistics.